excess all areas

I like to fool myself into believing that I’ve got my finger on the pulse, sonically speaking. But, to be honest, underneath it all I’m aware of just how much self-deception is going on. The fact of the matter is that there are simply too many bands making too many good tunes (and a lot more making shit ones) for any human to keep up with (although the chimps might have a better chance). However, that doesn’t stop me getting a buzz the first time I come across a mob of musicians who grab and engulf my ears and brain with their audio extravagances, even if they’re already ‘out there’ and adored by thousands well before I find ’em.

One such mob are total mash-up terrorists Sonic Boom Six. Last week I heard my first track by ’em. This week I’ve got all of their tunes and am waiting for the t-shirt. According to the wiki entry they sound like ‘Notting Hill Carnival on a punk CD’, which to my mind is under-egging the pudding (moral dilemma – is it OK for vegans to use animal-based expressions?). Punk, ska, drum ‘n’ bass, ragga, calypso, dancehall, metal, hip hop, dub, samples and loops all fuse perfectly for a full-on booty-shakin’ experience, but that’s only half the story. The lyrics are just as fiery, fiesty and fun and make the whole package well beyond complete.

I can’t recommend any of their albums in particular, they’re all pretty much spot-on, just take a lucky dip and prepare to be impressed with whatever lands on your doorstep. Having said that, ‘Sounds To Consume: Champion Edition’ has the best version of ‘Safe European Home’ that I’ve ever heard, easily surpassing the original.

They’re some of the most intelligent, talented and up-for-it political partyheads I’ve had the good fortune to stumble across this year, so let your hair down and join in the fun.

OP’s opinion: @@@@@

Download sample tracks – ‘Monkey See Monkey Do’ (original version + Rogue Trooper’s Jungle Fever remix)

And if you’re in the Hull area around solstice time, check this out:

Love Music, Hate Racism benefit gig flyer

The best bargain of the season I reckon.

If you live further afield, they’re also playing these venues beforehand:

12 Dec 2007 WHITE RABBIT, PLYMOUTH
17 Dec 2007 BRICKYARD, CARLISLE
18 Dec 2007 BAR ACADEMY, BIRMINGHAM
19 Dec 2007 VIVAZ, SCARBOROUGH

Time to get yer dancing legs on.

This entry was posted in General Banter, Reviews - Noise. Bookmark the permalink.